Just another WordPress.com site

Today Colorado…Tomorrow Guatemala

So, I’ve gotten in a little over my head this summer. I decided to take the last two classes toward my LIA certification and I’ve been working twice as many hours at my ESL job. My husband and I are working on fixing up our backyard, having lots of visitor and going on vacation.

Excuses, excuses!

So, as I mentioned last post I am going to be putting up some old blog entries. Each week I will be posting an entry that I actually wrote in 2009 (you can see the date at the top of each entry, if you’re interested). I hope you enjoy!

Friday, 06 February 2009 00:00 Tracesea Slater

I ended my last (and first) blog with

Here goes…

And tomorrow I am going to Guatemala. This trip is actually the reason I started this blog in the first place.

I have wanted to go to a Spanish speaking country and practice my Spanish for a very long time and finally I am making it happen. With encouragement and help from family and friends I decided to take the plunge. I researched different places online and finally decided on El Nahual Language School in Quetzaltenango, Guatemala. I picked this school because the money you pay for lessons goes toward social programs and also, if you take lessons you need to volunteer at the social programs. I don’t know what program I will be volunteering at but I’m excited to find out. Here is the website for El Nahual:   http://www.languageselnahual.com/bienvenidos

What I know so far…

Quetzaltenango is the second largest city in Guatemala and is commonly referred to by it’s original name Xelaju (Shay-la-hoo) or Xela (Shay-la)

I will be living with a family, and they will provide me with three meals a day and a hot shower.

I will have one-on-one Spanish lessons for part of the day and will volunteer for the other part of the day.

I have read a few small books in preparation, but I’m not really sure what to expect. I’m excited and nervous too. I will leave tomorrow morning, way too early, at 6:00 AM and will arrive in Guatemala City a little after 2:00pm. I am spending the night in Guatemala City with a man named Marco and his family and the next day I will journey on bus to Xela and meet the family that I will spend two weeks with.

So, the adventure begins…

One response

  1. Kippy Honda

    Hang in there Feisty! Being in over my head is the story of my life…when I am weak, He is strong! this will be fun to read your back blogs 😀

    June 20, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Leave a Reply

