Just another WordPress.com site

Squirrely – my very first blog entry

So last time I talked about rejection and putting myself out there – opening myself up for criticism, rejection, judgment etc. This reminded me of how scary it was the first time I wrote a blog entry. Before I started Feisty Owl Studio and this blog I contributed to a friend’s blog, which is no longer online. I still have those posts saved and in the interest of giving them a new life, I will post them here.

Below is the first blog post that I ever wrote. I remember that my Dad read it and was not impressed. He said, ‘That first blog post you wrote was pretty squirrely, but they got better after that’. I didn’t really know what squirrely meant, but I was pretty sure it wasn’t a compliment.

Who me, squirrely?
Squirrel print by asa133photography on Etsy (click on the picture to visit their shop)

I just decided to look up squirrely and here’s the first definition that popped up (from Urban Dictionary):  “Adjective: 1. mildly insane 2. unpredictable and jumpy, often in a cowardly way 3. nutty; resembling a squirrel looking for nuts.”

Does this squirrel look mildly insane to you?
Squirrel print by asa133photography on Etsy (click on the picture to visit their shop)

Wow. Just for the record, any mild insanity I have probably comes from my Dad. So, I guess that would make him an expert on squirreliness. If you’re reading this, I love you Dad. And if you’re not reading this, I still love you. Just a little less.

Squirrely, though it may be, it was honest and captured a moment in time for me as I decided to put myself out there, via my writing, on the internet.

Here it is:

Adventures in Blogging

Sunday, 09 November 2008 00:00 Tracesea Slater

I had never really thought about writing a blog before, but here I am and here is my very first blog entry. Being new to the world of blogging I am very aware of my inexperience and I find myself a bit self conscious… Writing for an unknown audience, I think about what should I be writing and what will people think? Already in this short paragraph I have gone back and deleted, reworded and tried to make everything just right.

Anxious,

Nervous,

Apprehensive,

What’s the big deal?

I’m not sure, but this seems like a big step for me.

I consider just clicking on that red X in the corner and deleting this all.

Maybe I should just come back

and begin when I have something,

something more important to say,

when I’m more composed,

when I have it all figured out.

But this is not about perfection or the creation of a perfect story.

It’s about the journey

and journeys aren’t smooth or perfectly crafted

They are often bumpy and full of unexpected twists and turns

And even when they don’t go as planned,

they lead to discovery

both pleasant and painful

So, in an attempt to share my journey, with all it’s happy surprises, unexpected pitfalls and even its possible banality – I will try my best to let go of my self consciousness and give you a (mostly) unedited account of my thoughts and experiences.

Now

quickly

I must end this entry

to click on the Save button

before I lose my nerve

by analyzing what I’ve written

and erasing this awkward beginning,

this true account of my initiation

to the world of blogging.

Here goes…

2 responses

  1. I like your very first blog post!! And those pics of the squirrels are amazing! I think you expressed yourself beautifully, and I love the part about the blog being about the journey and the journey being bumpy and full of unexpected twists and turns. Tell your dad to zip it! 😉

    June 14, 2012 at 3:41 am

  2. Christina

    I also love it. You did a great job and I can’t wait to read more:)

    June 25, 2012 at 5:13 am

Leave a Reply

