Just another WordPress.com site

Carefree Bear

I read this interesting blog post titled Forest and it had a link to a psychology walk-through test.

I’m a sucker for these things, so I did it!  If you’re interested, click through and do it yourself before I influence you with my results…

Okay, are you finished?

What did you think?

The most interesting part of the exercise for me was my bear. I saw a baby bear eating something and I just waltzed right on past it through a field of flowers. This says that given the chance to see a problem I didn’t view it as a problem. It also says that I deal with problem resolution with ease. Yay me!

I have to say that this is something that I have definitely worked on over the years and I have gotten better at.

I used to be a worrier and I took things way, way too seriously.  Having made a concerted effort to be more easy going and light-hearted, I’m happy to see this reflected in my cute baby bear.

Being able to let things go and move past our problems is so important. I think that my change in attitude over the years has been key to my increased happiness.

There are so many sayings out there that reflect this message like,

Don’t sweat the small stuff and

Give me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.

I think that when confronted with a problem or something we don’t like we have three basic choices. Change it, change the way we look at it or avoid it. Worrying doesn’t accomplish anything worthwhile.

What do you think?

8 responses

  1. Awesome! I’m glad that you saw a cute bear and that the test provided some valuable insight 🙂 I agree with your 3 choices when confronted with challenges. Sometimes avoiding things we can’t change is a route we must take in order to just move on.

    April 23, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    • I totally agree. If we are unable to change our perception of that thing then sometimes it’s just best to remove ourselves from it all together.

      April 24, 2012 at 12:23 am

  2. Reblogged this on th.ink.

    April 23, 2012 at 9:13 pm

  3. Jamie

    I think you are AMAZING.

    April 23, 2012 at 9:17 pm

  4. I’m glad that you were able to receive some insight from my post. I often question myself of who I’ve become as well as where I want things to be, but in the end I’m ok with who I am. It’s difficult at times to not be hard on ourselves and to acknowledge the problems we do have, but our character is based on how well we overcome them. We are all in a learning process and we will achieve our goals and build ourselves in time.

    ~Lady T

    May 31, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Leave a Reply

