Just another WordPress.com site

Negative Royalties?

So, I got my first royalty statement from Sage Publications for my recent book:

(You can see my post I’m a published author!)

Excited about my giant new income from this instant best seller (can textbooks even be best sellers?), I ripped it open.

And, alas it was worse then I imagined.

At the bottom, next to TOTAL ROYALTIES, is written -11.70.

Yup, that’s right, negative royalties. I didn’t even know it was possible.

Apparently, there is something called ‘indexing fees’ which was deducted from the royalties I would have gotten – and the fees were more than the royalties! I’m sure this was all in the contract and probably explained to me at one point, but obviously I was not paying attention.

My husband thought it was hilarious, “You owe them money, ha!”

Ha. Ha. Ha.

Actually, it was pretty funny.

 

2 responses

  1. :/ the price of being famous!~ Just wait – it will turn + soon enough 😀

    March 30, 2012 at 2:40 am

    • I didn’t know it cost so much to be famous Kippy!!! : )

      March 30, 2012 at 2:53 am

Leave a Reply

