Just another WordPress.com site

Happy New Year!

So it’s been just over 6 months since I officially opened my shop on Etsy and a new year is beginning! I made myself a goal that by the end of 2010 I would have 100 things listed in my store.

Last night, at the very last minute, I made my goal! Better late than never…. YAY!  Also, even though I didn’t have a goal around my number of sales, I’m very excited that I currently have 104 sales!

2010 has been a fantastic year for me, with lots of changes and plenty of learning and growing.

Regarding my journey with Feisty Owl Studio, here are just some of the highlights from my first year (6 mos):

I agonized over a name and finally realized I had to make my own choices and just get on with it.

I learned to create a light box, take better pictures of my items and edit those pictures so they look better online.

I learned what it’s like to have one of your items break in transit and as a consequence how to safely ship my breakable items.

I refined my shipping prices and process to maximize my time and profit.

I felt the thrill of my first sale!

I felt the even bigger thrill of selling to people I don’t know!

I found out that my packaging and owl bells are a big hit with buyers.

I learned what it feels like when someone is unhappy with the thing you created and they bought from you.

I discovered treasuries and the thrill of making one that is semi-popular!

I experienced what it is like to work with buyers on custom items.

I discovered BNRs and made friends on Etsy.

I found out that if you don’t renew your items in time then they just disappear and you have to redo them!

I found out that there are some shady, negative sellers on Etsy, but many more who are wonderful, kind, friendly and helpful.

I learned that regularly posting on this blog was something that I did not make a top priority and I decided to work on that.

I built my confidence and worked through some of my fears.

I affirmed that I really like creating and selling things online!

I know that 2011 is going to bring even more exciting changes to my life. I look forward to all of the learning and growing that I will do in the next 12 months. I’m very excited for the new year and all the things that will happen!

My goal right now is to set goals for the next year and tell you all about them in another post. To be continued…

2 responses

  1. Great post Tracesea – enjoyed reading it 🙂

    January 1, 2011 at 6:24 pm

  2. Thanks Paula! You are one of those great new friends that I am so happy to have made on Etsy.

    Paula makes fantastic steampunk items on Etsy. Check out her shop http://www.alterederas.etsy.com !

    January 1, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

