Just another WordPress.com site

Highs and Lows

Okay, so this week came with a big high point, quickly followed by a low point.

First the good news. On Monday, Etsy posted a link to the PM Dawn video Set Adrift on Memory Bliss and asked fans to create a treasury inspired by this song for a chance to be featured on the Etsy Facebook page later that day. I hadn’t heard that song in a long time, but I used to love it! It brought back memories… So, I listened to the song approximately 50 times while I composed a treasury inspired by the song. If you’re interested, you can check out my treasury here .

Lo and behold, I was chosen by Dave, a wonderful Etsy staff member, to be featured! He said he loved my treasury! (I’m sure it had nothing to do with the fact that I seemed to be the only one who responded to his request and did a treasury based on this song)

So, a little later a link was posted on the Etsy Facebook page to my treasury! The Etsy staff also tweeted about my treasury! I felt so famous and it was exciting to watch the number of views on my treasury go up and up… I unfortunately had to leave the excitement to go to work, but it was very cool! The treasury currently has 1742 views and 363 clicks, which is a record for me. I even got a message from someone who used to work with PM Dawn back in the day who complimented me on my treasury and my tribute to PM Dawn. So awesome! It felt good to be in the spotlight…

Tuesday morning I woke up, still riding high from my semi famous treasury. I logged in to check and see how the treasury was doing and I saw that I had a message. It was from a customer who had ordered a necklace from me. She didn’t like it and wanted to return it. There went my bubble. Pop! She was very nice about it all. She explained that it just wasn’t quite what she was looking for. I, of course, responded letting her know that she could definitely get a refund as soon as she sent the necklace back to me. I was in a funk.

I knew that this was bound to happen, but this was just my first time. I started thinking, maybe my pictures make my items look better than they really are… should I take crappier pictures? What could I have done differently to avoid this? How can I ensure customers will be happy with what they ordered once they see it in person? I was obsessing!

I ended up asking the customer what it was that didn’t meet her expectations and she said that the stones were smaller than she thought. So, I asked if she thought a reference item would help in the photo. She thought this would be a good idea. Okay, so now I may need to start incorporating reference items into photos, especially when I don’t have dimensions listed. It was a good lesson.

I know I won’t be able to completely avoid this happening in the future. We’ve probably all bought things online that weren’t quite what we anticipated when we saw them in person. However, I hope that I can work on making sure my pictures and descriptions are accurate and contain enough information so that buyers are better prepared for what they are purchasing.

I know that this journey is going to involve lots of these highs and lows. Certainly I can expect to go even higher and even lower at times! I’ve just got to roll with it, knowing that it’s all part of the experience. Every experience brings new knowledge, ideas and feelings. I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

 

Leave a Reply

