Just another WordPress.com site

I’m a multipotentialite and I’m okay

What do you want to be when you grow up?

If you answered ‘lots of things!’ then you may be a multipotentialite – yeah, that’s a big word and I’m not even sure I know how to say it.

The gist is that we don’t have to have to be just one thing when (and if) we grow up or have just one ‘calling’ in life. It’s not an either or proposition – it’s and both or all!

If you’re interested in this idea, read this post by Emilie Wapnick called Why Some of Us Don’t Have One True Calling (and Why We’re Better Off that Way).

I ran across Emilie’s website Puttylike through an email from Etsy and I was instantly intrigued. As I read through her website I kept feeling like ‘YES, she gets it!’ There are so many things I can relate to on her website.

For example, I’ve always had an aversion to labels and part of that was because I feel like I am so so so many things – I don’t like being put in a box and it seems like everyone wants to do just that. The pressures are all around us to narrow ourselves down into one area of expertise or be just one thing.

Just a few of the many faces of Tracesea:

Professor Tracesea – presenting research

Poser Tracesea – posing as this or that

Mama Tracesea – loving her baby

Weird Tracesea – ummm, eating flourescent lo mein

Runner Tracesea – getting ready for the Colfax Marathon (relay)

Hoodlum Tracesea – keeping it real (okay maybe this one should be labeled poser)

Author Tracesea – with my co-author and friend Alana

Okay, you get the point…

I very briefly touch on my paradoxical self in my  ‘Why Feisty Owl’ post  and a little of my varied background in the About Me page, but it goes way beyond that. I have so many things that I like to do – and so many more that I want to learn to do or try out – the world is so full of possibilities! I have signed up on Puttylike for the free ecourse titled How to Smoosh Your Interests Together & Set Yourself Apart and I’m super excited to see what it entails.

In addition, Emilie helps people to turn all of the varied interests into one business, which she calls Renaissance Business.

So, if you’ve ever felt like you naturally tend to go in many different directions while everyone tells you to pick just one path, check out Puttylike and let me know what you think!


2 responses

  1. Wow, thank you for this Tracesea! And I love the photos of you as your many “selves.” It’s always nice to meet another multipod. :)

    March 10, 2012 at 1:13 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers